“You Are What You Eat” — A Transient Thought on a Sunday Morning

A thought in passing — it is not just the case that “you are what you think” or “you are what you perceive”. It is also the case that “you are what you eat”. All of these maxims are mutually-related truths.

I do not advocate vegetarianism, although I am somewhat sympathetic to the reasons for it. Not even the Buddha was strictly vegetarian, as it is a peculiar fact that he is reported to have succumbed to dissentry from eating contaminated dried wild boar. I consume very little myself in way of animal flesh, and only fish or foul in small amounts. Rarely, I will eat wild or semi-wild animal meats like bison or elk.

It is a fact of our evolutionary and biological makeup that we are also part carnivore, and that the needs of “the wolf in man” (as Gurdjieff called it) must be satisfied and not neglected. Attempting to engineer that part of us out of our psycho-physiological constitution is a mistake, for it is closely related to the proper functioning of our sexuality and vigour.

That said, I advise against eating beef or any commercially-raised creature that is raised for slaughter under wretched or miserable conditions, including eggs, milk or cheese. An animal passes on the mood of its life through is flesh, just as the mood of some human experience is passed on through a token, momento, or souvenir. An animal raised for food under abusive, joyless, unhappy, and hellish conditions passes along its mood through its flesh. That is part of the significance, in magical cultures, of “the power object”. It retains the mood of its owner, and the “primitive” fear in magical cultures of being manipulated or harmed through one’s nail- or hair-clippings has a partial basis in truth, and for the same reasons.

Eating large volumes of red meat after middle age, especially, merely from previous habit is very ill-advised, as the body does not require it any longer for its growth and renovation. It’s the very meaning of “middle age”, probably. It simply becomes a burden to the body that can lead to all kinds of physical complaints and maladies. Eating even more red meat after middle age will not make you younger.

Fish and fowl suffice, sourced as close to the wild state as possible. Avoid farmed fish and battery- or factory- raised fowl, for the reasons given. The abuse of animal life is a travesty, and such abuse has often unrecognised adverse blowback effects on the abuser.

7 responses to ““You Are What You Eat” — A Transient Thought on a Sunday Morning”

  1. tony says :

    Its good to have you back. Wherever I am I like to think I can always tune into your blog for some sanity.

  2. LittleBigMan says :

    Yes, it’s really good to see you back. I totally echo tony’s remarks, and as usual, I have more to say below 🙂

    My daily diet almost exactly falls into what you are describing. But 1) this current diet is hugely different than what I ate during teenage years and even throughout my twenties and even early to mid thirties, and 2) this shift in my diet was the result of two things: a) listening to my body, and b) my growing knowledge about food products out there. Throughout my teenage years I ate so much pastry that it landed me on the hospital bed twice due to food poisoning. I know of no other person that this has happened to 🙂 But today, my favorite pastry of all time, cream puffs, don’t even get a second glance from me. Last time I had them was back in 2006. Most of the desire for having pastry gradually worked itself out of my system by the time I was 19. Nowadays, I’m the only one among my colleagues who doesn’t eat dessert after a meal. The other craving I used to have which I no longer have was for red meat. In my teenage years, I could easily eat enough red meat in one sitting that was prepared for four healthy people and it wouldn’t bother me at all. And I would feel great. But now, I can’t stand red meat. It doesn’t look good to me at all. It doesn’t smell good, and it certainly doesn’t taste good whenever I become foolish enough to try some. Fish and fowl are all the meat I eat. Wild Salmon, Asian Carp, Wild kippers from Germany, Tilapia, and Chicken. My food portions have gone down to almost one-tenth of what I used to have in my teenage years. The amount of rice I used to have during one lunch when I was a teenager easily lasts me a week now, if not more.

    One more thing which I think is worth mentioning is that I have noticed a significant difference between having food without some fruit afterwards, and having food with some fruit afterwards. It seems to me when I eat fruit after a meal, not only the amount of energy I gain from the same amount and type of food increases but also that increased energy is felt throughout my body quicker than if I had the same food without any fruit.

    • Scott Preston says :

      Throughout my teenage years I ate so much pastry that it landed me on the hospital bed twice due to food poisoning.

      That actually happened to a friend of mine — a most peculiar man, actually. He ate something called “May Wests” (cream puffs) and Coke for breakfast every morning until it (quite literally and most strangely) “turned his stomach” and he had to be admitted to hospital. I can’t remember what the medical term is for the condition, but his stomach actually flipped. At least, that’s how he explained it to me.

      • LittleBigMan says :

        That’s hilarious. Thank you for sharing that. My parents just couldn’t believe it at the time that it happened to me once, and to have to take me to the hospital a second time and see nurses connect me to ivy again was pretty shocking to them.

  3. amothman33 says :

    I am glad you are back.Reality sandywich has the flag ,you are what you eat.Less food, less sleep,more meditation more seclusion is the path under the supervision of faith in the energy field in witch we are planted.It is a question of respect.

    • Scott Preston says :

      Thanks, Abdulmonem. I hope the blog can rise to meet the high standards of its worthy readership. From the earlier Dark Age Blog to the present Chrysalis, both blogs been blessed to have such a great group of readers and commenters, some of whom have been with it for over 8 years or so and (by a quick off-hand reckoning) about 1100 articles.

Leave a Reply

