Unsystematic Observations on William Blake, II

I came across an interesting, unfamiliar quote from Blake in Frye’s Fearful Symmetry. It is apparently a marginal note he made while reading Swedenborg, and its resonance with both the Seth material and Castaneda’s experience came to mind immediately.

Essence is not Identity, but from Essence proceeds Identity & from one Essence may proceed many Identities…”

If the Essence was the same as the Identity, there could be but one Identity, which is false. Heaven would upon this plan be but a Clock…” (quoted in Frye, p. 31).

Readers of the Seth material will recognise the “energy personality essence” as being Blake’s “Essence”, and what Seth refers to as “the multidimensionality of consciousness” the ability of the Essence to assume multiple identities simultaneously. In some texts, “Essence” also has the meaning “godhead”, which seems to be also that called “the Pleroma” in Carl Jung’s Seven Sermons to the Dead, the full text of which you can read here.

The “Essence” and how it is able to assume multiple identities is also described in Castaneda as his “leap into the abyss”, which remained to him something inconceivable. In the course of his “leap” (as described more thoroughly in his later books) he discovered that he wasn’t a single identity. As he described it, he experienced himself as a veritable city of selves or identities. This was the experience he called his “dissolution”, and yet he remained a consciously unified perceiver of this dissolution into multiple selves — the paradox of the one and the many. That which perceived the diversity of identities, and new itself as the source of those manifold identities, is called the “Essence” by Blake, and Blake himself is but one probable identity of the Essence, also, just as Seth is also one probable identity of the entity he calls “Seth II”, who he also calls “Big Brother”.

That the “Essence” may generate and assume multiple identities is also the import of Rumi’s poem “Say I am You”

I am dust particles in sunlight,
I am the round sun.

To the bits of dust I say, Stay.
To the sun, Keep moving.

I am morning mist,
and the breathing of evening.

I am wind in the top of a grove,
and surf on the cliff.

Mast, rudder, helmsman, and keel,
I am also the coral reef they founder on.

I am a tree with a trained parrot in its branches.
Silence, thought, and voice.

The musical air coming through a flute,
a spark of stone, a flickering

in metal. Both candle,
and the moth crazy around it.

Rose, and the nightingale
lost in the fragrance.

I am all orders of being, the circling galaxy,
the evolutionary intelligence, the lift,

and the falling away. What is,
and what isn't. You who know

Jelaluddin, You the one 
in all, say who

I am. Say I
am You.
5 responses to “Unsystematic Observations on William Blake, II”

  1. amothman33 says :

    the sufis have a saying that goes, god never appears in the same form twice and does not manifest himself to aperson in the same form over time and we are mirrors, but each mirror has its own reflection witch indicate his knowledge of the world and that is why we have so many narrations and different verbal expressions and conceptual representations. we need to stick otherwise we float.

  2. LittleBigMan says :

    This was the first time I’ve ever heard of Carl Jung’s “Seven Sermons to the Dead.” The Sermons were profound beyond words and absolutely mesmerizing. It seems to me that in my dreams, I’ve seen images and experienced events from this “greater world” Jung is talking about. I say this because the Sermons evoked in me the same sense of awe and infinite mystery I would feel every time I would wake up from one of those dreams. For some reason, Jung’s piece also reminded me of the Flammarion Woodcut that I saw here on Chrysalis for the first time:

    http://search.babylon.com/imageres.php?iu=https://longsworde.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/universum.jpg&ir=https://longsworde.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/urbi-et-orbi/&ig=http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRnUoTiOvCaefSY1FgNb4U_TxpcaDO5hdGiMMfj2oWdkv5Gk3gmqzGfe7E6&h=451&w=517&q=Urbi+et+orbi&babsrc=SP_ss

    Jung’s remark that:
    “Weakness and insignificance here, eternal creative power there.”

    rhymes so well with most of my experiences during the dream state (“there” as I’m interpreting it) juxtaposed against my experiences during the waking state (“here” as I’m interpreting it) . Not always, but mostly, I experience greater power and flexibility during the dream state than during the waking hours. It seems to me, then, during the dream state we enter that “greater world,” where our powers of every kind far exceed those we maintain here in this “smaller world.”

  3. LittleBigMan says :

    Jung’s “Seven Sermons to the Dead” was absolutely profound and mesmerizing. This is the first time I’ve ever heard of it. For some reason, his references to the “greater world” and “smaller world” kept bringing the image of the Flammarion Woodcut (also something I saw here on Chrysalis for the first time) back to my mind. His remark that “Weakness and insignificance here, eternal creative power there” reminds me of my exeperiences during the “dream state” versus my experiences during the “conscious state.” Not always, but mostly, I experience power during the dream state, whereas that same sense of power is missing from my waking hours and the conscious state. It seems to me then that during the dream state a part of us enters or wakes up in the “greater world” while our physical body is in a state of repose in this “smaller world.”

    If I understand it correctly, it seems to me ‘dreams’ are a way for our entity as a whole to maintain a balance in its activities as this thing that is part physical (part of the smaller world) and part non-physical (part of the greater world).

Leave a Reply

