A Reverie

Last night I had an odd reverie, one of those things that William Blake would call a “memorable fancy”. I suppose it may have followed from my earlier comment about the plague of “false prophets”. It wasn’t a dream, because I was quite awake.

In this reverie I found myself in a large, cavernous and somewhat darkened hallway. I’m supposing it was a cathedral. There were pews, but mostly empty pews. There was a man at the end of the hall, at a lectern, dressed in presbyter’s robes giving a sermon. His features were quite indistinct from my distance, but something in me recognised him as Francis Fukuyama. I couldn’t make out what he was sermonising about, but I presumed it was about “the end of history”.

Suddenly, though, as he was speaking, his head detached from his body, fell to the floor, and began rolling like a bowling ball down an aisle. Then a man leaped up from a pew, caught the head in his hands, and held it, kneeling, while the oracular head continued to sermonise as if nothing had happened. I looked back toward the lectern and saw his body still standing there, rigid and immobile, while the head continued to sermonise. Then the curtain came down on the reverie.

I know what the reverie is about, of course. Francis Fukuyama is no William Blake.

“I will not cease from mental fight, nor shall my sword sleep in my hand” until I’ve slain this dragon called “the End of History”.

4 responses to “A Reverie”

  1. davidm58 says :

    There’s an excellent documentary entitled “The Crisis of Civilization” available online here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMgOTQ7D_lk

    Based on the book by Nafeez Mosaddeq Ahmed (http://www.amazon.com/Users-Guide-Crisis-Civilization-Save/dp/0745330533), it’s now a little bit dated (2010?), but one of the highlights is the cartoon portrayals of Francis Fukuyama and Samuel Hunnington (author of “Clash of Civilizations”)

  2. abdulmonem says :

    This narration of Nafeez Ahmed fits nicely with the tackling of Scott,specially his emphasis on the integrated vision and leaving the fragmented view.Leaving the occupation with god creations and words ,that is incorporated integral vision and get immersed in the human creations and words, the limited vision. This, in my understanding is the main cause of our restless civilization, that is when the human thinks he is the only player in earth and ignoring all other players seen and unseen, falling in the well of rationality away from reason and imagination. That is the well of the misled modern economists which is concerned with the idea of maximization of growth irrespective of the well-being of humanity or nature. Even scott reverie can be understood in that vein.

  3. alex jay says :

    I suspect that I’m somewhat in the back of the line on the topics covered over the last few weeks. However, at the risk of going over ground already discussed, the mention of Thomas Berry leads me to access something I bookmarked that I thought was wonderful (as you may recall in our conversations over the years, I’m a fan of Telihard, and Berry is taking Chardin’s insights into a more contemporary articulation). As an aside, he made me see Thomas Aquinas in a completely new light.

    Apologies if you have already covered this?

Leave a Reply

